I had one of these crispy, chewy cookies from Bunner’s Bakeshop for breakfast yesterday. Before you judge me, read this, from the Bunner’s website: “Packed full of organic protein-rich seeds, plump cranberries and rich dark chocolate, the Supersonic Gypsy stands its ground when there’s just no time for a full breakfast.” There you go! No guilt. Just me, my wholesome Supersonic Gypsy cookie and a cup of toasted walnut green tea from DAVIDsTEA. (Dunking the cookie in the tea…not a bad idea.)
Bunner’s Vegan and Gluten-Free Bakeshop – Toronto’s first bakery of its kind – is a sweet little spot in the Junction. We discovered it last March when I was looking for a gluten-free birthday cake for Lily. She wanted a “real” cake (as
opposed to an ice-cream cake). She wanted chocolate. Well, she had her cake and ate it too! Who knew that something free of gluten, eggs and dairy could taste so heavenly, so moist, so fluffy?
Since then, we’ve become Bunner’s devotees. And we’re not the only ones. This little bakeshop has a big following. Like my friend Bonnie, whose daughter is lactose intolerant. She was blown away by how “unexpectedly moist” the baked goods are. “You don’t have to be gluten- or dairy free to enjoy Bunner’s,” she says. “The brownies are equal opportunity scrumptious!”
What follows is some R-rated gluten-free goodness, just warning you.
Today a mysterious box wrapped in brown paper arrived at our doorstep.
It was addressed to Lily. We tore it open and out popped one of our new favourite snacks…in five different flavours!
Popchips are not made with any gluten ingredients but they used to be
manufactured on equipment shared with wheat. Not anymore! In August 2011 they were officially certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, a program of the Gluten Intolerance Group (aka GiG). The company is in the
process of changing over its packaging to include the GF symbol, so there’s a chance you might find bags that don’t have the symbol printed on them. Popchips says that if a bag has a “best by” date of August 2012 or later, they’re definitely gluten free. As always, be sure to check the labels and ingredients. Munch on!